Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers.

Nowadays, we look around and often witness children playing games on computers, tablets even on their parents phones. This is even practiced by younger children such as 2 or 3 year old. These games are good to an extend of keeping them engaged while their parents do other important work or house chores and keeping them calm while visiting a relative or doctor's appointment. However, unknowingly this new habit develops into addiction and may damage their brain cells.

Computer games are always fun and the way they are designed keeps a person motivated to play it further and beyond to such an extend that children forget to eat or respond to their surroundings. For example, my friend's son is 7 years old and my friend is a working woman and a mother of 4. All the other siblings are younger than her 7 year old. At the time of her second delivery, she had twins and that time she had a lot on her plate, so she gave him a tablet to play games while she was doing other things. Now whenever I see him, he is always on tablet or playing computer games. He is so much addictive to computer games that he is not attentive to people who call him. He responds only when he is moved by hand. It has gotten to a point where teachers have complained about him being inactive in class participation and he is failing badly. She even tried to restrict his use of computer for an hour a day however, that ends up in tantrums and hassle in dealing with him and wastes her time therefore, she often lets him be on computer for hours.

Sometimes children do not realize how much they have played a certain game and fall behind their goals. When I was 14 and was in grade 11, I often played this game called 'THE SIMS'. It was extremely fun to play and I used to sit for hours building houses and placing families and operating their lives that I forgot to focus on my own. I started failing Add Maths. I started taking extra classes but because I wasted a year on playing games that I had to retake Add Maths class. Because of this I wasted my time and my parents were disappointed on me for failing.

Computer games are fun and good as a leisure activity and can keep you engaged however, there must be a control placed on its usage by adults so that children learn to differentiate between what is good for them and what is not and can learn to restrict themselves from excessively abusing the power of freedom given to them at a later age.