Do you agree or disagree?

You should always tell the truth and must not lie. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Since my childhood, i have always been told by my parents to always tell the truth and do not conceal any lies. Be transparent, especially when it comes to dealing with family and friends as well as work colleagues. This i strongly agree to because telling the truth not only give you a peace of mind as you don't have to worry about hiding anything however, being truthful can also cause you problems as you will be taken as offensive and rude.

Not being truthful can bring in trust issues. For example, one of my friend was having a party at a farmhouse and i was invited. I was afraid that my mother will not give me permission because its at a farmhouse, away from adult supervision. So, i told her that i have to study at her place instead. When she was dropping me off, surprisingly, my friend's mother was in the driveway and my mother came to know about the part. She obviously did not let me go not because it was at the farmhouse, it's because i lied to her. Because of this incident, my mother always used to doubt me when i told her about group studies. But this went well after a while when our relationship got stronger.

On the other hand, being truthful is also not appreciated by many. It is actually a funny story. Once i was at a beauty salon and this lady was having her hair done from the stylist. She got in curls but they were not really smooth and looked like a bird's nest. I kept the thought to myself but no she had to ask me how was she looking. Well, i told her the truth and guess what! obviously she wanted the stylist redo her hair but also the stylist heard me telling this to her. And she was really angry at me that she cancelled my appointment at the salon because she was also the owner.

I would conclude by saying that it depends on the situation that whether a person should tell the truth or not. Like you cannot tell truth to a thief on the street that you have $500 in your socks hidden. Nor you should hide anything from your loved ones or anyone like i did. The truth never stays hidden.

But i would agree in being truthful in all aspects of life because no one appreciates a liar than a truthful person.