Do you agree or disagree?

You should always tell the truth and must not lie. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

although the decision between telling a lie or the truth may be dependent to the situation, I think we are allowed to tell a lie if we discern it is needed to. telling the truth wouldn’t always be beneficial and some people including me may prefer to here a sweet lie rather (than) the truth.

First of all, telling the whole truth is not always necessary. one of the situations that leads to this kind of conclusion is romantic relationships. telling the whole truth about the details of your previous relationship is one of the signs of not being mature enough, although concealing the substantial truth about your past is not appropriate.

Second reason is that telling the truth to some people is the worst sin you can condemn in your life. some people, especially old people that have some health problems may be affected by bad news. For instance my friend’s grandmother had some heart problems. Her grandfather had an accident and got hit by a car, for obeying the theory of “telling the truth is the right thing” they told the grandmother about that accident. Her grandmother became worried and had a heart attack spontaneously, while the grandfather was perfectly safe and sound the next morning. In similar situations, not only telling the truth is not considered as a merit , but also is somehow committing a crime.

I am one of those people asking my friends not to tell me about sad artificial events. And by that, I mean the events that mostly won’t affect my life and I can not do anything about that if I had known about them. Because when I know about these events, I get extra stress and thereby disrupt my performance in other activities that I should be doing and occupy my mind wherever I need it to be occupied with far more important things.

All in all, I think that telling the whole truth is not always necessary and sometimes telling the truth may lead to inevitable consequences. I think we all have to give some considerations which of them is best to choose. but telling the truth is not a merit in any situation.