A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Some people would subscribe to the view that existence of a factory nearby would be beneficial for the locals, as opposed, others might subscribe to the opposite view. If I were to be asked, I would subscribe to the latter as I believe factories should be constructed in industrialized towns, far away from people and living creatures in that their existence might result in harms to the environment and animate creature.

First and foremost, many people may hold the view that establishing a factory in their neighborhood can lead to creation of more job opportunities for locals. This is really fascinating due to the existence of a lot of unemployed people who are highly educated and competent seeking for proper job opportunities. This can help them eventually find a job for themselves which holds the benefit of not commuting to the workplace. The job opportunity can enhance owing to being in connection with a network of suppliers and customers in the neighborhood. people can be in the middle of a myriad of opportunities which enhances their chance of finding a job and getting acquainted with entrepreneurs and people who know how to make a fortune well. And we all know that today it is all about networking. Additionally, people who are commuting from their homes to the factory area will make the adjacency crowded which causes an increase in sale for retailers in the area and thus, benefiting small businesses around the factory.

Factories release lots of materials which are highly contaminated into water, soil and the air we breathe. These kinds of contamination can pollute the surrounding area and effect general health of people and natural habitants nearby. The contamination resulting from factory pollution is mainly consisting of air pollution, toxic waste released in the water and soil which can diminish the life of inhabitants residing in those areas. The pollution coming from factories can influence our general health as well as declining our lungs health conditions. Additionally, working machines in the factories make so much noise which can disturb locals. Consequently, on the one hand, people can be in the middle of a myriad of opportunities which the factory brings, on the other hand, people are exposed to a lot of contamination due to high amount of pollution and toxic waste that the factory disposes of. I believe that the latter might cause more harm compared to the benefits which the former might bring. Moreover, all the people in the area will not benefit from a job opportunity owing to the fact that the jobs might not fit their expertise and skills, or simply they don’t need the job for that they have already been employed. To put it simply, all the people will suffer from the long-term harm compared to the few people who might actually benefit, not to forget the fact that those people are not immune from the harms the factory brings, either. Furthermore, with advent of computer and information technology leading us to a digital era, level of importance of manufacturing industry has declined. Nowadays, gross domestic product or GDP of a country is mostly owing to its’ service sector. As for many of developing countries, the GDP is 50 to 70 percent dependent on service sector, which is a substantial figure. Nevertheless, the importance of production industry cannot be totally denied as it still plays an important part in countries financial development. People are moving toward finding jobs in service sectors, however, as they are more promising, thus jobs regarding to working in a factory are not amongst popular jobs due to their harsh atmosphere and intense environment.

In a nutshell and due to the above-mentioned arguments, I strongly believe that the disadvantages of establishing a factory in the neighborhood outweigh the advantages. The harm and pollution disposed of factories can be very harmful to human’s physical and mental health. Carbon emissions resulting form factories can cause respiratory problems and the pollution might cause extinction of animates inhabiting in areas nearby. I hold the view that factories should be constructed in industrialized towns far away from people and natural habitats.