Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that human life and relationship have undergone dramatic changes in the era of technology and modernity. There is a heated debate about the concept that under such circumstance where people prefer to have cyber friends, honesty and truth play a vital role in almost all kinds of relationships ranging from social friends, partners and couples, or any kinds of relationship possible. I firmly hold the view that the positive effects of telling the truth are undeniable and worthy of support. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoints.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that honesty is the main pillar of any kinds of relationship without which friendship will not last long. In today’s progressive world we live, everyone is striving to make an honest, royal, and trustworthy friend who can be reliable and stand by your side in sadness and happiness. Literature is rife with psychological studies that reveal that there is a significant and positive relationship between telling the truth and a sense of confidence and trust. To put it in other words, the more a part of the relationship tells the truth, the more trust will be found in that relationship. Not only telling the truth will enhance confidence, but it also makes the parties of the relationship more reliable and closer to one another. The best example to highlight the importance of being honest in a relationship can be depicted in my long-lasting friendship with Mary with whom I made friend while were high school students. During all these years, none of us told a lie to jeopardize our firm relationship.

Another equally significant reason to be expressed is on the basis of the well-known Persian proverb that says “telling lies will make one’s heart gloomy.” Accordingly, it is obvious that those who are in the habit of telling lies, even the so-called white lie which to me is the same as any other vicious lie, are constantly afraid of getting caught by the very lie they tell their friends or other beloved member of a relationship. Besides, it is undeniable that in most cases telling a simple lie leads to telling a chain of lies which are aimed to cover the very first lie. As a personal experience, I, once committed the mistake of telling my friend a lie which totally ruined our friendship and I still feel a sense of guilt for every moment of my life. If I told him the truth, he would still have been one my best friends and I would not have tortured by the sense of guilt I have now.

To wrap up, considering the above-mentioned reasons about always being honest and telling the truth even if it is not to one’s benefit, I assert that the importance of being honest outshines the sense of guilt one may have after telling a lie. Telling the truth is beneficial and yields positive effects on a person’s life.