TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s world technology make it easy for people to make new friends or keep in touch with their old friends. There are recent debates over whether making new friends will benefit people for enjoying their life or not. Different people hold various views due to their distinct backgrounds and perspectives. Some people may the opinion that it is better for you build a new relationship with new individuals but other have a negative attitude. As a matter of fact, the issue of making new friend is so complicated and controversial that it is impossible to find a universal answer to this question. Nevertheless, I endorse that, to some extend keeping old friends is more important than creating a new one. In order to substantiate my vantage points, I would like to address some key evidences; our old friends understand us better and they try to help us with our obstacles, and also; old friends are reliable and you can trust them.

In the first place, trust between you and your old friend are so potent that you can share your problem with them. For example, when I was in university, one time my boyfriend did not call me for two weeks and I was worried. Although, my boyfriend had been a business trip and was not able to give me a call, my new roommate told me that he probably is in love with someone else and has left you forever so I thought that maybe she is right and when my boyfriend came back, our relationship got into trouble. After that I am worried to make new friends and tell them about my life.

Along the same line, another privilege of the aforementioned idea; old friends know your characteristics and are able to give you an appropriate advice when you have a problem. It takes a long time to new friends to get to know your behavior. Thereby, they could not provide you good guides and sometimes may give you a bad advice. For instance, my field of study is genetics and when I was about to select a subject for my thesis in my masters, my friend Ali who had been my classmate since high school suggested me that you should select a subject about quantitative genetics that works with statistical software and programs. Now I am successful in my career the credit for this goes to my friend who guided me well.

To put the issue into perspective, by taking into account these entire aspects, old friends will definitely give you more opportunities when you need advice and have a problem. Thereby, you are more successful with their guide.