tpo12- Do you agree or disagree with following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects to specialize in one specific subject.

In the recent century with technological advancements, no one could repudiate the importance of academic study. Different people hold different views due to their distinct backgrounds and perspectives. Some people may hold the opinion that it is better for you to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects but others have a negative attitude. As a matter of fact, the issue of studying many subjects is so complicated and controversial that it is impossible to find a universal answer to this question. Nevertheless, I endorse that, to some extent, studying diverse subjects is better than specializing in one specific subject. In order to substantiate my vantage points, I would like to address some key evidences: it is interesting for continuing education; and also, finding a suitable job.

In the first place, studying different subjects provides us a situation to broaden our horizon and expand our knowledge which make us to continue our education and have a better understanding of our surroundings. But, studying a major for a long time would make people bored so that they do not like to pursue their education most of the time. One of the striking examples, a friend of mine studied biology and everything related to biology to learn it deeply but unlike his expectation he got tired of reading monotonous topics.

Along the same line, another privilege of the aforementioned idea; gaining various issues creates a situation which enables you to find a job more easily. In a society there is a need for different jobs and people who have studied varied subjects that makes individuals think about a problem in many diverse perspective. As a result, people are able to find a job more comfortable and will have more options for their career. For instance, a person who studies finance, accounting, business management, etc can become a financial analyst, an accountant or a business manager and. when he or she wants to become an accountant and market is full and demand for it is low, he or she still have an opportunity to become a business manager or a financial analyst.

Third, there is a truth that people sometimes do not know what subjects they really like or love. If people learn different subjects, they will manage to find an answer for it and discover what they really like most. I think because of this reason universities teach various issues to students especially in undergraduate period.

To put the issue into perspective, by taking into account these entire aspects, learning many subjects gives us more choices for finding a suitable job and feel interested about study and safer if their interest changes later.