It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects to specialize in one specific subject.

There is no denial to the fact that people will have wide range of opinions and contrasting views on whether it is better to have a broad knolwedge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. Well, as far as my opinion is concerned, I would definitely like to specialize in one specific subject. My opinion in this regard is a deduction of life lessons and personal examples which I shall elucidate in the following passages.

To start with, I firmly believe that in the modern world of rapidly evolving technologies, it is of utmost importance to dig deeper into the intricacies of a particular subject. The industrial requirements expect an individual to be a thorough expert of their assigned job role. Speaking from my personal experience, I have learned that the best way to excel in career is through becoming the master of a specific trade. Being a data analyst, my daily job is to deal with data through data cleaning, analysis, simulation and many more. I receive high payoffs from my work through delivering strcitly in accordance to my domain. However, I am never expected to showcase my knowhow of literary arts or history. Thus, there is really not much use of possesing a broad knowledge of many academic subjects.

Secondly, people must objectively focus really on something that they enjoy the most. Yes, a basic level of knowledge on a variety of knowledge would never hurt anyone. But, one must essentially remember that we are bound by time constraints in this fast paced world. Thus, the time allocated for learning and specialization should essentially be directed to something one takes interest in and wants to pursue in future. As I have learned from my own life, I had wasted a lot of time in my early life, mugging up chunks of information that were of no use once I joined the work force. Hence, carefully devoting time to a field of specialization is a wise decision.

Finally, people must really acquire knowledge in one specific subject that they know would help them in future. As it had happened to me, I was interested in coding since my childhood and had my goals clear to become a programmer. As a result, I devoted all my time during undergraduation learning all possible nuances in coding. As an outcome, I bagged a very satisfactory job once I graduated. On the other side, I had seen my friends take up classes on a huge spectrum of specializations ranging from politics to social sciences. Surely they have a lot more knowledge than me in absolute terms. However, relative to today's situation they had a really hard time being placed.

In conclusion, I would like to state that as per my opinion, pertaining to the applicability in modern world, being an expert in a particular field is more prefarable than having a braod knowledge of many academic subjects.