People learn things better from those at their own level - such as fellow students or co-workers - than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

There might be possible conflict of opinions regarding an efficient learning process. While some might prefer a peer aided learning, others would opt for an instructor facilitated learning process. However, according to me, learning things through productive and enriching discussion with fellow colleagues or friends is definitely more rewarding. I shall bolster my claim through a few explanations and examples.

First, learning as a process, must be a path of symbiotic learning, not influenced by a perception of superiority. When we opt to learn from instructors, we presume their status of high intellect - a notion that prevents us from questioning at several instances. On the other hand, a discussion with fellow peers eliminates the fear of judgement, leading to a free flowing learning process. During my school days, I remember struggling a lot to grasp elementary mathematical concepts. The teachers, although highly proficient, failed to help me out in my endeavour. I was fortunate enough to get assistance from a fellow batchmate, who made learning so easy for me. Mathematics became suddenly so easy when we could joke about problems and approached it as a mere game.

Second, learning should enhance discussion of deeper issues, and not merely those restricted to a particular curriculum. Most often in formal settings, when we learn from teachers, due to time crunch and professionalism, we fail to dive into a topic. However, when we learn from fellow individuals, we are free to reflect on ideas, no matter how naive it may seem, that might not be entertained by a teacher. During my undergraduation, I would always develop a deeper understanding of macroeconomics while discussing contemporary global macroeconomic policies with my study group. Such discussion session would stimulate a superior though process keen to know more.

Thus, I would definitely prefer to rely on the process of learning-by-doing than getting schooled by a supervisor.