It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects to specialize in one specific subject.

In order to make a good life in this competitive and stressful world, humans need to work hard and have knowledge of many fields or one specific field. some people think that it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. While others disagree. In my view, I believe having a great knowledge of a specific subject is better for two important reasons.

first, nowadays, as technology advances in different kinds of fields, many subjects have arisen. it is impossible for people to have knowledge of this widespread subjects. For instance, today, as we see robots have taken the performance of many industrial and medical tasks. A lot of surgeries are performed by robots without human interactions. but how a robot built? it is good question to think about it. robots are made of different parts, like electrical or mechanical parts, and individuals who works in electrical part, they can never take action in mechanical parts. Because each portion need a specific knowledge, and in order to master all parts of a robot, we have to pass many academic courses, that it is roughly infeasible. As you can see it is almost impossible to have knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Second, when individuals focus on one subject, they have a deeper understanding of it. On the other hand, people who have concentration on many different topics, they just waste their time and energy. take myself as an example, when I was a first year student in university. I just want to learn many things, so I registered in numerus courses and paid a lot of money. Each courses needed a lot of time and energy to practice, but, due to taking part in different classes, I am not able to focus well on practicing. Furthermore, these courses, not only were they not good but also, they wasted my energy, money and specially my time. this experience taught me, if you want to have a deep understanding of a subject, you need to focus well on it, and eliminate other things that distracting you.

All in all, for the reasons I have mentioned, I draw the conclusion that it is better to have knowledge of specific subject than to learn many academic subject. Finally, I suggest individuals to just focus on a field in order to master it.