TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Is it better to keep one’s old friends, try to maintain a connection to them, or instead, seek out new people, meet new faces, and eventually, begin a new adventure? When this question is put in that kind of perspective, it is clear what the answer is going to be: One needs to take courage and worry a little less, instead, opting for the unchareted uknown.

There are many reasons why one should search for new friends. Perhaps the most obvious reason is to establish new links. When one meets a new person, and ultimately befriends said person, he or she has opened a door to new experiences. People are of various backgrounds, and many of them have a lot of potential and have a lot to offer. One can learn from such people, understand their perspective, and in doing so grasp a better understanding of the world. Making a new friend means getting access to a set of whole new experiences. To come to share their understanding of a situation, many times a dire one, without having to go through it yourself, is truely something to cherish.

However, making new friends is not as easy as keeping your old friends. While one would need to spend considerable time with an old firend to maintain the relationship, to befriend someone new, would take even more time but also would require one to develop certain skills. These social skills allow one to easily approach another person for a friendship offer albeit many times intimately, and not in a direct way. This set of skills is not easy to come by, yet it is very important and rather useful. That is why trying to make new friends can additionally help a person develop his or her social skills.

Speaking from experience, some of my best friends have been people that I initially had no intention to even approach let alone befriend. But these people, whom I did not even consider the thought of befriending, were most of the times in many ways better than my old friends. Because they opened up whole new opportunities for me by simply sharing their perspectives and experiences with me. Experiences that my the select few of my friends did not posses. This in turn led me to become a more complete person, whereas clinging to only my old friends, would have never obtained the same results.

In conclusion, trying new experiences is always a worthy struggle. Among them, perhaps trying to make new friends and accomodating one’s self in new situations, arising from those friendships, is perhaps some of the most valuable and rewarding struggles to take upon one’s self. Not letting one’s self remain in a niche place with only a handful of old friends.