TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

It is not true that the privileges of the new age we live in has changed the hardships of life or its struggles in any substantial way. In our age, one still spends more of his or her time doing what’s necessary to simply get by. All the various forms of entertainment, while varied and more prominent in our era, still could not substitute the various obligatory activities of one’s life.

Consider what the advent of television, and later, personal computers and internet have brought us. They have simply exposed us to a bigger picture, and by doing so, in many ways, they have attracted our attention to the more important matters in life. In the past, if one were to choose to live a simple life, it would have been more than easy for him. By choosing seclusion, he would have the opportunity to focus much more easily on his own hobbies. He wouldn’t have the need to concern himself with a wider network of people, their peculiar relationships and the things that are expected to happen in said relationships. In other words, he had fewer commitments and duties. Thus, the mere scope of our new age has doubled one’s responsibilities.

Furthermore, while it is true that there is relatively a wider range of entertainment sources available in this new age, arguably, as a result of the development of more advanced technologies, people are engaged in more time-consuming and demanding tasks. Clearly, we are not addressing the physical endeavors of the modern age, but the mental preparation needed, to face the ever-present technological aspects now concerned even with the mundane tasks of the past. Agriculture, transportation and many other fields have been completely revolutionized by the advancements in technology in ways that require one to fully engross him or herself in aspects of life completely alien to people of previous generations. But all of this is clearly needed in order to keep up with the technologically advanced world and its people.

All of this, contribute to a situation where an individual no longer spends nearly as much of his or her time, doing what he or she would consider entertainment. The necessity of exposing one’s self to new methods and emerging solutions every day has, in turn limited one’s possibilities to designate a great portion of his or her time to him or herself.

In concluding, I believe that while it’s true that many of the tasks of this age seem rather deviated from the responsibilities that one would undertake in a previous era, they all are necessary and do not at all, hold any entertainment value. Rather, they are essential tasks suited for this era, and the complexities that we face in this new age, have contributed to a situation where one spends, in fact, more time, on the more important issues in life and less time on entertainment and related matters.