TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I believe that in a few decades into the future, we will see much fewer cars on the streets than today. In fact, given the proceeding reasons, it is understood that the likelyhood of such an occurance is very strong. This is due to the fact that the willingless to produce such instruments, as well as the inclination to use them will diminish quickly. Soon, these monstrosities occupying our streets will be deprecated.

The first outcry will be the enviromental issues. This is where the government will step in. Cars are instruments that produce massive amounts of various types of polutions among them noise and air polutions. Man is starting to realize that he is in a state of coexistence with the enviroment. It cannot simply neglect the effects that his adventures are having on the planet. The enviromental hazards casued by cars is a well-known fact and many companies have tried to contain it. But a nation-wide effort will soon become nessacary, as the efforts made by the companies is simply not enough. That is one of the reasons that replacing cars with other forms of transportation is so important.

Next on the list is the various costs concerned with making these cars. Unfortunately when compared to other forms of transportation like buses, trains or planes, cars seem to be the least costly products at first sight. But a closer inspection sheds some new light on this premise. In fact, when we take into account what “cost” really means, we realize that they may in fact, be the most expensive transportation product. If we define cost in a manner that takes into account the non-renewable consumption of our natural resources, then we can see how matters like recycling out-of-purpose cars and other issues greatly add up to the costs. Of course, these costs are not visible initially and it would take some hindsight to realize the importance of the issue.

Additionally, the way people transport between places is greatly changing. People’s cutlure is rapidly changing giving rise to an inclination towards using public transport for all the benefits that it has to offer. On the other hand, fewer people are willing to drive their own cars, citing issues like safety and comfort. Many simply enjoy the social aspect of taking the bus instead of driving to work. Therefore, it is undersood that people would rather see fewer cars on the streets, as they deem them inefficent and see better alternatives for it.

In conclusion, I would be of the opinion that fewer and fewer cars per person will be in use in the following years. The government cannot handle the enviromental issues without first dealing with the problem of air-polluting cars. The high costs of manufacturing cars, along with the consumption of the earth’s resources at a suprisingly fast pace together with people’s tendencies to prefer public transportation in this age and year, all contribute to the replacement of cars with more effective transportation systems in the near future.