TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

I disagree with the statement which is the people today spend too much time on personal enjoyment rather than doing things they should do. The reason why I do not agree is it depends on country and culture. I would compare working style between Japan and Western country for holding my opinion.

In western country such as America, people work really efficiently to make sure that their work-life balance is good. For example, there are so many restaurants and cafes organizing “happy hour” which is for workers. They have time for hanging out with coworkers after work because the company let them go home on time. In fact, even if they do not get done with their project, many companies force them to leave because the company do not want to pay for overwork. Thus, I do not think that is good for company.

The other example is about birth rate in both countries. For example, average of Japanese lady’s marriage age is getting high year by year because they work so hard to support their life. There is a common issue. If the lady works really hard and get married at 40 years old, she does not prefer to have own child because she cares her health or career. So, Japanese birth rate is shrinking so Japanese population is versa triangle. Due to this problem, the company give employee the holidays are called “refreshment holidays”. The company try to make them feel satisfied with their life and lead them to have own time not only working.

All of considered, I do not think that people today spend too much time on personal enjoyment more than things they have. It depends on background such as culture, job and region and people should care about work-life balance more.