TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The ideas and concepts are something that cannot be seen directly but are the creation of our mind. However, facts are the results from process of thinking, observating and experiencing, and we cannot change. Learning facts requires students to remember every single fact correctly. In my opinion, it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts because learning ideas and concepts helps students memorize events longer and apply them to deal with many kinds of problems in their real life.

First, understanding ideas and concepts, we can apply our knowledge into many different situations. Facts in textbooks can not cover everything. Therefore, if we just learn facts, we will be confused when facing a situation differs from what we have memorized. For example, when preparing for a mathematic exam, students usually tend to solve all the sample tests in their books and remember the answers. It is somehow waste of time because the actual test is not exactly the same as these existing tests. Instead, we should spend time learning the concepts of the subject such as methods of building and develop the ideas. These will help us create logical thinking which is easier for us to solve all problems.

Second, memorizing facts may help students get higher score in tests, but after class, it is ideas and concepts stay longer in their mind and help develop their logical thinking. For example, we may not remember the formula of law of Acsimet, but we can explain exactly that ships which seem to be heavier can be floated on the water while a needle is sank due to Acsimet law. Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school. Ideas and concepts are our actual knowledge because they are still in our mind regardless of time.

Third, learning ideas and concepts is good for us to establish our creativity. Nowadays, with the rise of technology, there are machines which can hold a large number of information for us, so we do not need to remember every facts. Therefore, people who have new ideas and invent new things can benefit their life. Learning concepts is not only a good way for students to study smarter, but also help form students’ characteristics.

To sum up, facts are tools and ideas and concepts make us differ from other people. Although most of curriculum offered in schools are cover by facts, students need to learn ideas and concepts which are very important in their life.