TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The key of be succeed to get idol grade in school is, deeply understanding the lessons that the teachers teach it. On the other hand, the teaching of teachers is also important. teachers should have a basic understanding of how people acquire and absorb knowledge. In my opinion all the teachers should pay attention to these points, and I’m as a teacher with ten years of experience, I’m proven that you cannot be a great teacher without these subtleties points.

The first item is; the students Learn differently, how many classrooms are currently designed with one learning style in mind? Worksheets and flashcards work well for students who absorb knowledge visually, but for a child who needs to hear the information in order to grasp it, traditional methods of teaching force him or her to use a physical sense that is not as well developed. The visual learner doesn’t have the same opportunity to stretch his or her other senses. If a teacher comes to the classroom with the basic knowledge that students learn differently, they will be better equipped to arrange the lessons in such a way that all senses are activated.

The second item is; People learn from failure. In fact, ask any major successful person what helped them and usually it will involve a story that hankers back to a big “mess-up”. Failure teaches even better than a perfect score on a test. Classic grading systems don’t help with this theory, as grades have become inflated, feared, and used as judge and jury about who learned what. Contrary to popular belief, learning from failure is anything but easy. It’s not just about “reflecting” upon what you did.

The third item is; This is a psychological and logistical suggestion. Creativity is the birthplace of true learning, where a student can initiate thoughts, ideas, problems, and make connections between concepts. Creativity requires the activation of the right side of the brain. Space allows the opportunity for creativity to ignite. Logistically, give students a place to stretch out, move away from a desk, or gaze at the sky outside. In the context of a lesson, allow for brainstorming sessions. Leave gaps in the order so students can create their own projects using the facts and theories in the lesson. A teacher enables a student to learn when he or she becomes a quiet mentor on the sidelines, rather than the dictator of every move or step. For example, if a science teacher is lecturing on photosynthesis, the students will benefit from hitting the same concept at different angles. First, the teacher explains the overarching concept. This provides framework and context. Second, he explores each part of the process in greater detail. Third, he explains the whole process again, this time encouraging students to ask questions. Fourth, he asks the students to explain it back to him. Finally, he takes the process and inserts it into a relevant everyday situation that stretches the students to apply the information in a real life example. As he reinforces the concept with different angles, the brain is better able to organize the information. Trying to hit all of the points in one explanation will overwhelm most students.

In conclusion, the students should be studding more but the teachers are important to. I hope that the examples given above have sufficiently expressed my opinion.