TPO 1 - Task 2 - Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal finance support.

Social activity is one of the most important factors in people’s life. Some people communicate with their friends, their families, and their colleagues more than others. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is that whether physical activities and sports are as necessary as study and book reading. Where I to choose between these two alternatives, I would select the former. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

To begin with, it is undeniable that some children like sports and other physical works more than reading a book or watching television. These students have potential ability to prosper in a sports field like running, swimming, football, etc. If universities compel the students to pure study and do not pay enough attention to their natural desire for physical activities, students do not enjoy from being in a university or study in a college. For instance, my little sister is 12 years old and has plenty of penchant to swimming. She likes to go to a swimming pool and swim for hours. Last year when she wanted to join her school swimming team my mother did not let her because she did not trust her school staff and did not like my sister to join that team. My mother’s decision made my sister upset and even discourage her from studying.

Second, social activities and sports help children to be healthy. It is established beyond doubt that dong a sport help people to feel better and to do their works effectively. As all of us know, children like running, playing, and other emotional activities more than any other activities. Their inherent desire for playing is an effective factor for adults to learn from them and pay more attention to these activities. My own experience is a compelling example of this situation. I am a teacher and teach Mathematics. Last week, school manager wanted to eliminate one of the sports classes and compel students to attend in my class because he thought that the Math class in more necessary than the sports class for them, but I spoke to him and persuaded him that both of the classes have the same importance for students.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that both of the social activities and other classes are essential for students and universities and colleges must pay enough attention to this topic because it has striking effects on children's lives, can help them to progress more expeditiously, and make them happier and healthier. It is an important part of people's life.