TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, many of the children around the globe become addicted to video games. This phenomenon has multiple negative impacts on the child. Some people argue that such games should be prohibited especially among youth, similarly, I utterly agree with this opinion for the following reasons.

Firstly, teenagers spend most of their time playing this games that actually do not carry any benefit for them. On the other hand, this addiction leads to a noticeable decline in their school performance. Moreover, recent studies show that failure rate increased among video game addicts. Thus, children should be prevented from playing these games. For instance, when I was at the high school, a friend of mine was really like to play this kind of games, thus, he consumes his time playing instead of studying even in the exam time. Consequently, he failed in all the subjects, so, he had to repeat the year. Even though he was really depressed and frustrated, he continued in his careless behaviors until he fired from the school. After many years another friend told me that he became a drug addict and end up on the jail. As a result, he jeopardizes his entire career for nothing.

Secondly, these games have negative side effects in one health, children who addict to that kind of games usually spend long hours sitting in one place, so, they are less active than their peers. That put them at the risk of obesity besides other multiple health problems. In addition, through focusing on the screen, they can harm their eyes to a huge extent. Moreover, they become less social and that can affect their ability to build a relationship with other people, which is one of the most basic human skill. For example, last year when I was studying medicine at the University of Khartoum, my roommate used to spend all the break time in the room playing on his computer. No matter how many times I tried to build a connection with him he always pushes me away. However, after a while I knew that he did not have any friends when I talked with him later, he told me that he used to stay alone playing video games since he was five years old. So, obviously, It was difficult for him to start a new relationship with the students at the college.

In conclusion, video games should be prevented particularly among young children, due to its various devastating effects. Due to the fact that they can destroy the child career and personality in the future.