TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are living in a world of technology. It provides us with many tremendous things. However, it also generates a big problem that there are many games on computer and in fact children like playing computer games. The question is whether children should be allowed to playing computer games. Some people think that playing games is good to children. Some other would not agree with this point. In my opinion, playing games is just a waste of time. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, if children spend a lot of time playing computer games, they have less time to study. For children the pivotal job is to study. This is a prerequisite duty for children. We all know that children are always curious to know and to try something new. Thus, they find these things on playing computer games. As a result, they care about these games, they spend a lot of energy on these games. Consequences, when they are addicted to these games, they do not have time to study. For that, the loss of interest in their studies is undeniable. My nephew is a compelling example of this case. Last year, his father gave him a computer in order to support his studies. However, he used it to play many kinds of games. Last month his father tested his knowledge about mathematics, he could not answer as he did. Then his father recognized that his son played computer games all day. Eventually, his father punished him and told him not playing computer games anymore. Now my nephew can regain his grade.

Another reason is that spending too much time on playing game will make children become inactive and gaining weight. Playing some physical activities, such as jogging and exercises is very important for children to develop both physical and mental health. If children play computer games, they only sit in front of a computer and it is inevitable that their health will suffer a lot, and they will gain a lot of weight as well. For example my niece loves playing game named "rose adornment". After finished her classes in school she always played this game. Last week she recognized that she gained too much weight. He said that she will give up that game and do more exercise to reduce her weight. I hope she can do it.

Last but not least, if children devote their time on playing computer games, they have no time to communicate with their parents and their friends. Communication plays a significant role in our lives. It not only helps us to convey our ideas and express our emotion, but it also a way to learn how to respect others and make more friends. Therefore, children who spend too much time playing games will lack of these skills. This will negatively affect them in their future. Otherwise, the children who do not play games, they can spend their time to hang out with their friends and have social lives. This will provide them a good key to be successful in their future.

In conclusion, playing computer games causes of many serious problems in children. In my opinion, children should not be allowed to play them or parents have to regulate the time carefully in order to balance schedule for their children between playing games, studying and other jobs.