TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently, we are living in a media centric world, and any form of entertainment can be acer by fingertips through our smartphone. Research claims that people send almost 6 hours a day for entertainment such as watching videos, online chat, and especially for children playing games. Though at the beginning computer games are limited to only computer platform, nowadays children have over 50,000 computer games choices in their smart phone. I am of the opinion that children should not be allowed to play computer games mainly for games impact on children’s health and their parent affordability.

To begin with, children spend average of 4 hours a day in front of their computer of mobile playing games. Most of them skip exercise and have distorted eating habit. As a result, children sometimes suffer from health problem. You can take my brother for example. We allow him to play computer games because he still have great score in his class. However, after several years of his playing games routine. We found out that he has shortsighted eyes that is dangerous considered his age. Moreover, the doctor recommend my brother to start exercise regularly because of his overweight body. Although prohibit children to start playing games is difficult, It is almost impossible to change his routine once he is already playing games every day for several years.

Furthermore, children are incapable of inhibit their needs. More importantly, they are easily tricked by those games that ask for cash. Children are not aware how hard their parent save up money for their education, and some show aggressive behavior when they cannot get what they want. As a result, it becomes tough for parents to keep up with games expense. My friend experience can be a good example here. Few years ago, He spent his parent’s money on games more than $100. Later he found out that his parent has to borrow that money from other. If he knew that, he would ask for money.

In conclusion, games can be hobbies for people to relax from their job. As everything has two sides of coins, playing games since young is one of the dark side of games based on games impact on children’s health and their parent affordability.