TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently we are living in digital world, where technology has huge impact on both our personal and professional life. Due to technology, many jobs has obsoleted, while new kind of jobs are offers for new generation with new skills. There is a controversy among different people about whether to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects of to specialize in one specific subject. I am of the opinion that people should become specialize in one area mainly for technology impact in job market and scarcity of specialize professional.

To begin with, many jobs that do not require deep or specialize knowledge such as clerk or deliveryman will soon be replaced with technology such as automation and artificial intelligent. In repetition or document tasks, employer prefer technology to people because technology can work 24 hours and more accurate than human. As a result, in order to survive in job market today, people need to be specialize in one area. You can take the example of jobs in my company. My company replaced deliveryman with drones to deliver goods to consumer. Drones can work 24hours, and always-on time. On the other hand, new job title created such as drone technician. Therefore, while some broad knowledge job will soon be obsoleted, many companies have more demand for specialize knowledge jobs.

Furthermore, although technology advances provide human with comfort and easier life, pollution and global warming has become major issue of humankind. These issues cannot solve easily by rule or government regulation. Our world need specialize professional in this scare field such as climate change to help work on the most difficult problem that human ever faced. However, less than 30% of new graduate choose STEM field as their major and even less pursue subject such as climate change. As a result, global warming issue become bigger while people who work on become less and less. I believe that we need to encourage new generation on the issue human currently faced and how important for these specialize subject will help our world.

In conclusion, study many academic subjects can be advantage several decades ago. Nowadays, specialize in one specific subject is more important due to current trend changes in job market and scarcity in of specialize professional.