TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout the years, the vast expanse of technology provided people an easier life: however due to disadvantages present also on the soaring phase of science there has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether computer games must be inhibited to the children. In my opinion, playing online games brings nothing good on the welfare of the human being’s life and future. I will explore the reasons for my stance in the following lines.

To begin with, computer games take away the full attention of a child to his education, which is a vital part of his future. Since playing games has been widely popular all over the world, numerous students started using the computer even at an early age. Moreover, they choose to cut down classes just to go to computer shops and play. As a result, pupils cannot devote their time on studying and eventually get low scores on exams or worst fail the subject. For instance, my friend back in college is fond of playing “dota”, a famous online games among the boys, he barely attended our class since he spent his time going to internet shops; thus this buddy of mine received a failing grades in most of our courses. For this reason, I strong believe computer games must be ban.

Furthermore, health issues are common complaints of online players. This is because they spent too much time facing the screen and sitting in a bad posture. Also, they tend to skip their meals or stay up late at night to finish their business. Consequently, they caused their body harm by repeating the same poor body habit every day. For example, my cousin is an addicted gamer, not to exaggerate but all he do whole day is staying n his room playing games. Since he was doing this for years, currently his body is paying for the consequences: he now have a slouching shoulder due to improper body positioning, in addition he also suffered from anemia- a condition in the blood due to poor nutrients. Accordingly, parents must guide their children in using technology.

Lastly, games take the players from their family by spending more time on a screen than making memories with them. According to research, a regular gamer stays in front of a computer desk for an average time of five to six hours a day. This time is long enough to divert their mind from more important aspects of their life, and that is quality time. If this continually happen, children and their love ones will lose the chance to savour moments while they are young.

All in all, I think computer playing must be strictly monitored and even prohibited among children. This is because the disadvantages outweigh whatever advantages it may have.