TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Sports are important in everyones lives. They give a sort of refreshment and help us escape the daily grind of life and work.

However, playing computer games is a waste of time and in particular children should not be allowed to play them.

I strongly agree with the writer's claim. The following essay gives the reasons behind holding my opinion.

Firstly, playing games, either indoor or outdoor is essential for children. Outdoor games like soccer, baseball, and football etc., increases the physical activity in children, therefore they become fit and healthy. Besides this, indoor games like chess, puzzles, and building blocks etc., enhances the creativity and IQ in children. However, playing computer games is a waste of time that leads to many adverse effects like eye sight problem and lack of physical activity. Moreover, the computer games cause a lot of misconception ,especially to young children, as they not completely matured. In this regard, I can give the best example of my friend, who is addicted to computer games. He loves playing computer games and spend most of his time with them. As a result, he developed poor eye sight for which he is still suffering and can not cure it completely.

Secondly, children develop a strong addiction towards computer games as a result they ignore studies further leading to poor grades in academics. In addition, their interaction with friends or family members decreases. In contrast, playing other games would increase the interaction and communication skills of child. In this instance, I can give my own compelling example, since, I like to play the games but not the computer games, I made really good friends during the course of that. whereas, my cousin is very much addicted to computer games and hardly played games with his friends, as a result he have a very few friends.

Finally, to put in a nut shell, I strongly believe that although, playing games is important, especially for children, for their physical and mental development, playing computer games is a waste of time and children should not be allowed to play them as they have harmful effects on kids.