Tpo 12. Do you agree with the statement. It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific one.

Having a good knowledge is essential for everyone. It is thought by some people that being specialized in a particular subject is better than having a broad knowledge. However, I believe that people who tend to learn about everything are more well-rounded. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore on the following paragraphs.

To begin with, one of the reasons why people should aim to learn about any academic subject is because they would become very well informed and use that knowledge throughout their lives. Contrary to the belief that knowing about one thing in very deep level would mahe students more competent in their studies, evidence shows that in fact, students are well equipted with knowledge if they do learn about different topics. A recent studey conducted from the University of Californis has indicated that students who knew the bases of different subjects were able to solve problems quicker than students who knew well only about a specific subject. According to this study, it would be better for young adults to seek for a broad knowledge.

Secondly, student who would like to study for a variety of subjects would have many more opportunities than students who know only one specific thing. Nowadays, we live in a society where it is crucial to have a wide beackground, which helps people to navigate throgh the unexpacted changes. My experience is a compelling example of this. About twenty five years ago, my brother studied for ingenering. He loved that profession and was passionated about it. As a result, he was very into it such as he wanted to become specialized in a pertivular subject. After he got a master degree on that subject matter, he found very good job in a specific company who was producing that perticular electronic device. However, with the development of the new technology, many earlier companies failed to sell their product with a profitable price. So the company got closed and my brother did not had a job. In addition, he found it very difficult to learn how to do other things rather than just building that specific device. Overall, young generation should learn broda knowledge, so they could train themselves and to be open to new opportunities that come across.