Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning is very important part of peoples development. People who are capable of learning, they will always be ahead of their time. It is thought by some people that learning facts is essential when learning something new. I believe that learning concept and understand ideas is crucial in learning process. I feel this way for two reasons that I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, students who are focusing more on learning concepts would have the chance to broaden their knowledge about that topic. The way they will think would not be narrowed only in one specific thing. Students would be able to analyse and thoroughly think in different angles of the matter. Therefore,that would help them to be confident on their knowledge and find better solutions for the problems and naturally remember facts. My personal experience as a student is a compelling example of this. About five years ago, when I was in university, my major was in History. I was always fascinated by the history of not only of my country but other countries, too. After I took the first class, I become overwhelmed with all those dates that were in the text. However, I decided to organize my studies by focusing more on understanding the ideas and concepts of different actions that were taken by people of different and difficult times. As a result, I was able to naturally connect those ideas with the periods when those occurred. Overall, students who understand ideas and concepts would naturally remember the dates and facts.

Secondly, contrary to the belief that learning facts is more efficient, evidence shows that students who understood the concept were more prepare than their counterparts who studied only facts. For instance, statistics have revealed that 89 percent of students are successful on their studies just because they were concentrated on learning ideas rather than facts of the subject. On the other hand, students who studied only facts had a lack of understanding in the matter, so that made them to stay at an average level in their academic performance. Therefore, students should study ideas and concepts in order to succeed in their studies.

In conclusion, I believe that it is essential for students to understand ideas. this is because they could thrive academically and because if they learn concepts first they would naturally remember facts.