It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents than to choose jobs that are different from their parent's jobs.

Our Careers make a crucial part in our lives. It is thought by some people that it would be better for children if they choose a career that is completely different to their parent’ jobs, rather than choosing a job that is the same as their parents is. This essay will discuss why, in fact, children should choose a job that is similar to their parent’s jobs.

First and foremost, contrary to the belief that children should base their decisions about their careers on their desires and passions, evidence shows that children who followed their parent’s footsteps were more successful. For example, statistics have revealed that 78 percent of children who followed their passions for their career choices, they did not do well on achieving their objectives. Therefore, those children could not pursue their dreams. This supports the idea that children who do not wisely think about what are the possibilities to become successful in life. They would fail to reach their goals somewhere in the process. Having parents in the same field would help students to get the support they would need on any stage of their careers.

Second, it is important to consider the fact that the profession would be expanded in the family. That would be an identification for the family. For instance, my personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a child, I always wanted to become a doctor like my father. I grew up around the medical books such as humans body atlases, which really fascinated me. When I grew up, I studied medicine. After I graduated, I worked as a doctor and I always thought that my kids would choose the same field as me and my father. Consequently, the profession would be kept into the family for a generation to come. If my child would not choose to become a doctor, then that prestige would vanish away. That is something that I never would wish for.