Tpo 8. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Addvertising is essential for providing people of any age with the latest or new products. It is thought by some people that adds that are directed toward children are a good way because children would get to know new interesting things. However, I personally believe that Television advertising should not be allowed direct to children. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, children do not understand the meaning of advertisments that they might see. When kids see something, they would require it without thinking that much. On the other hand, children who are not exposed to these commercials will not insist of wanting something. My own experience as an aunt is a compelling example of this. About ten years ago, when my nephew was five years old, he was very curious and wanted to have everything on his hands. One time he saw an advertisement in television about an item that suposed to be used by mothers for their kids. After after the commercial ended, he wanted me to find that item for him. I tried to explain to him that it was difficult for me to finf that item, but he just insited by crying out all the time. If my nephew had not seen that commercial, he would have never asked for it. Because of this, I think that children should not be exposed to any kind of advertisments that are presented on television.

On top of that, regulations about the advertisements should be controlled by experts that know better about the impact that these adds will have on kids. When these adds are not thought carefully, then the impact may not reflect positively on kids. However, it is the parents responsibility to make sure what their children should watch. For instance, recently I read an article about a survey that was done a few years ago. The survey showed that 87 percent of parents were unhappy with adds that were not analysed by experts. In addition, they had required authorities to take actions to stop uncontrolled commercials. This supports the idea that if the advertising is controlled, the impact that these commercials would have on kids would be positive. Therefore, parents would be more informed which adds their children should watch.