Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Attending the university is crucial for students development in academic level. It is thought by some people that colleges should equally invest in sports activities and libraries. However, in my view, universities should consider investing more in libraries rather than sports. I feel this way for two reasons that I will explore in following paragraphs.

To begin with, without a doubt universities should take into account the fact that libraries are the most essential part of the university itself. Students get their study materials from the libraries, which help them to save money because they do not have to pay for the books. After they finish with the book, they have to return the books back as the requirement of the library. In addition, students who could not afford to purchase books, libraries would offer them a full access to the academic materials that they would need. For instance, my experience as a student is a compelling example of this. About ten years ago, when I was in university, my budget was tight and I could not afford to buy all the books that I needed for each semester. Since university allowed all students to use the books from library, I was able to use the books that I needed to complete my classes. If the university did not have a rich and advanced library, I would not have been completed my academic studies. That is why colleges should invest more in libraries.

Secondly, contrary to the belief that universities should give equal financial support to sports and libraries, evidence has shown that colleges with a well-established library have better reputation than the libraries that lack of books and academic books. For example, statistics have shown that 95 percent of students who studied at those universities that have provided their students with a full access to their libraries. These young learner, have thrived throughout their academic year. Overall, a rich library, would give students the opportunity to perform well and have access to their study materials any time.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that universities should invest more in improving libraries. This is because having good libraries would help students to save money and because would give young learners opportunity to thrive.