TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I totally disagree with the statement above because of two following reasons:

First, in my opinion the one’s time is so limited in life to have enough opportunity for learn any field of knowledge or science in academic way. Everyone has just an specific time for living and following own goals, so I think it seems pretty illogical to have academic broad knowledge. Although every person should accumulate some information of some fields of knowledge so forth, it is considerable that every person must take own time in one field for being specialist in that major from universities or colleges.

Second, one of the important aspects of life is getting job and it can’t be reachable just by being specialist in a field. It is fine enough to have a broad knowledge in any field yet there is an expectation of people to be specialist in a major purposely to get a job. Furthermore he/she must be able to solve problems in his/her job with own knowledge and point of view as a specialist or accomplished person. For instance I had a friend who couldn’t find her interest, and she just try every things in any field, no matter how she should be interest or serious. And after passing the time when it was essential to focus on that major, suddenly she quit that and then was attracted to next field! So after some years she can’t neither enjoy in her real interest and make it useful for herself in life nor did she find any job and have money for own spends.

All in all it is essential to specialize and have a standard and easy life in this day and age.