TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There has been much discussion revolving around the topic of whether it’s better to specialize in one particular area or to have a broad knowledge of different subjects. In my considaration, for successful career it is more valuable to have broad knowledge. I will explain my position providing the examples to support my point of view.

FIrst of all, significant knowledge getted from different areas can possibly provide you with freedom, when you are able to choose properly your future speciality. The life is brimming with the examples of people, who were dissapointed in their field of study or job and desired to change it. In this case, their wide attainments are able to support them in the future development of the new career pathway. For example, my college was in the same situation a few years ago. While he was working as a research assosiate at the university, he decided to change his profession to the managment area. Because of his extensive knowledge in managment and marketing, one company without any hezitation hired him as a senior manager. Therefore, it is important to understand that sometimes our preferences are changing, and if we want to continue career in the different field, we have to elolve the different personal knacks.

Secondly, good knowledges in various fields help people to communicate better. For instance, when you are attanding the party, where are gathered people with different backgrounds and jobs, you have to find intersting topics to dicuss outside of your everyday work problems and work experience. Thus, broad knowledge will support you conversation and make you an interesting interlocutor for most of the people at the party.

Finally, It is extremely important to understand that in the future everyone is going to be a parent as well. Usually, children are very opened for the new investigations. Therefore, good parenting skills include answering the enormous number of questions and telling captivating stories about everything in the world. And, of course, It is impossible to do it without any extensive knowledge in the various subjects.

To wrap up, I believe that broad knowledges can provide us with the possibility to improve our career, find the new useful aquentience and also to be a good parent for our future child. I hope that the examples given above have sufficiently expressed my opinion.