TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people adopts the idea that people should study focus on only one subject than broaden their knowledge of many subject because deep knowledge is the most powerful tool for that person to foster their career. However, I find myself would be with this notion for the following reasons.

First and foremost, general knowledge is more powerful weapon for a person than deep knowledge. In fact, most of the leaders in big companies often have broad understanding in different areas. To be more specific, a CEO of a big company have to both understand technology of his product and the market that he is working on to bring out right business strategies for his company. On the contrary, specialize employees just need deep understanding of the subjects that they are working on. Unfortunately, because of the lack of other subjects knowledge, a specialize worker cannot reach high position in their life-work easily. Therefore, what can be seen from this comparison is having knowledge in many subjects creates advantage for people in their careers. Indeed, people should enlarge their learning.

Furthermore, academic knowledges also has a big influence on our social skills. For example, a person who is just good at math cannot have an attractive and interesting conversation about literature; therefore, he will have a lack of confident while talking about a great novel. This may seem to be fine, but actually it limit his circle of friends because there will be people that will not be interested in him. In contrast, general knowledge allow a person to join many conversation topics; he may not talk about it charmly but confidently. This enable him to be an alluring person in most of people mind and give him great relationship with people.

Ultimately, I believe that people should broaden their knowledge in many subjects areas; general understanding help them in developing their careers and sharpening their social skills. Indeed, successful extroverts often have broad knowledge.