TPO 13 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As everything in life is like a coin that has two different sides, people must weight pros and cons before jumping to conclusions. After all, each and every question or topics requires careful deliberation in that there are always multiple variables to a truth. Some people believe in today's generation extended family is less important compared in the past. In my humble opinion, I disagree that family ties is not vital in every person. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the majority of individuals would agree to the notion that family is integral part of ones society. Hence, in every household accounts for a strong bond between family members. In addition, up to now here in the Philippines we still practice close family ties where every family member supports one another. I lived in a family where we lived at one community where my uncle and aunt close lives by. For instance, when I have problem in school or difficult situation in life I would come to my aunt for advice and moral support. I can easily contact her and drop by her house when I needed her. For me extended family would be always be important in my life because they are always for me no matter what happens. All in all, family would always makes me feel safe and secure in every moment of my life.

Secondly, having extended family by your side has negative aspect is that you will not be independent because you know someone will be there for you. For example, when I was in college I studied in Quezon City it is a 5 hours drive from my home to school, so, I decided to be in a dorm. I was living all by myself with no assistance from my relative. Moreover, I have a difficult time adjusting because everything I need my mom or my aunt does it for me such as washing my clothes, preparing my things for school. In other words, I become too much dependent on them and I neglected to be a mature person, everything changed with the way I see life. Long story short, I would not be independent person If I would still live with my extended family, I will not be aware of the things I am missing because I am well nurtured to the point that I did not explore the things around me.

In summation, yes, it's virtually impossible to provide complete satisfying answer to an open ended question. Although the jury may be out on this essay topic, we can come to a mutual agreement that family is integral part of community and there is always a helping hand when you needed it the most.