TPO-13: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undoubtedly, families are one of the most essential parts of the society and children spend most of their time with them. As children grow up, they will be familiar with their extended families, such as grandfathers, grandmothers, uncles and aunts. Since these people have directly influences on the children, the relationship between relatives and children counts as an important issue in their life. In this case, many people want to know whether these relationships are more important than the past or not. Although a common idea is that extended families are less important than the past, I personally repudiate it. In what follows, I delve into couple of reasons to shed light on my response.

First and foremost, people are so busier than the past. Nowadays, people think about promoting in their career and work really hard to achieve it; they spend most of their time on work and whenever they want to relax, they prefer to share the free time with their close family, which means not enough free time to spend with extended families. For example, my father is working for a regular company, named Basir, which is not as compatible as other companies. Whenever we want to set a meeting with our extended families, he says us not to count on him, owing to the fact that he wants to promote in his career and should try hard for it.

Second reason for finding the importance of extended families less than the past is the development of technology. In the past, people should meet their relatives face-to-face, but as the technology improved, they can use lots of social applications to meet their extended families on the internet and have chat with them. By this method, people may think that they can be in touch with their relatives whenever they want; as a result, they do not pay enough attention to meet their relatives face-to-face and it decreases the importance of extended families. Based on a research, which has done by Statistic department of Shahid Beheshti University, roughly two-thirds of sample people used their mobile application to communicate with even their close families. It shows that people are less concern about meeting their relatives face-to-face.

To recapitulate, we can conclude that extended families are less important in compared to the past. This is because not only people are so busier than the past but also improved technology have some effects on this statement.