TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, family is one of the most predominant aspect of every person’s social life which leads to sense of identity, community and love. People care about their family and take care of them. There is a moot point in this case as to whether the extended family is less important now than it was in the past. I personally concur with this statement. In what follows, I will attempt to investigate some conspicuous reasons to justify my thesis.

First reason that deserves some words here is that today people have more secluded lifestyle. It goes without saying that modernization of life had been changed the plethora number aspects of lives. Much more job hours, long distance communication and much more personal enjoyment and entertainment lead to more solitary and secluded way of life. Hence, people are reluctant to communicate with their family; besides provided that they desire to devote some time to their families, they will prioritize their nuclear family over their extended family. An example will shed light on this notion. Consider a 35 year old man who lives in a big city alone. Owing the high cost of living condition, he have to work double shift in order to afford his costs; hence, he finds less free time to spend with his family, and should he find some, he will prefer his parents rather than extended family.

Second, people gain independency sooner than before and it dwindles their family attachments. It goes without saying that nowadays the majority of juveniles leave their parents for job opportunities or education, hence they reach high level of independency from their family in young age, conversely, people in past either rarely did people leave for education or most of times they continued they family career, therefore they stayed with their family and kept in touch with them. Needless to say maintaining relationship is the key element of attachment and caring. Hence, seldom do people see their family not to mention extended family; consequently, they care less about them. For instance, consider a 30 year old girl who lives in a big independently and she have visited her aunts 2 timed since she left her home for collage. As a result she feels less attached to her aunts over the time and is reluctant to visit them regularly.

To wrap it up, I assert the statement that nowadays extended family is less important that past. Owing the modern secluded life style people find less time to spend with their family and provided that they do, they will prioritize their nuclear family over their extended one and independency in young age trigger less family attachments.