TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, student time is one the most crucial part of every person’s life when people are trying to crystalize their thoughts, shape their character and choose their future life and field. There is a moot point in this case as to who influence students the most, teachers or their friends. An outstanding argument indicated that students are more influenced by their teachers that their friends. I strongly repudiate this notion. In what follows, I will attempt to investigate some conspicuous reasons to justify my thesis.

First idea that deserves some words here is that students share same background and ongoing situations and common understanding. Needless to say that age difference between students and teachers trigger various understanding and point of view about almost everything. It goes without saying that a good understanding is the key factor of an affiant relationship and finally principal influence. To put it another way, students and their friends are struggling same issues and share same feeling and emotions which are much more diverse from teachers currents issues. An example will shed light on this notion. Consider a 16 year old boy who has trouble focusing on his study while his friend recommend him some pill to improve concentering which he himself had tried before an was surprised with the results while should he goes to his teacher for help, owing the fact that the teacher doesn’t have this problem, he probably will come up with limit of hobbies and strict study hours. Although his suggestion may be true, the students will apply his friend’s recommendation.

Second idea that comes to mind thinking about this subject is the formal type of relationship of students and teachers who make it impossible to communicate deeply. It goes without saying that the either majority of education system prefer formal relationship between student and teachers in order to improve order and obedience of students or the majority of teachers are prone not to involve with students’ personal issues, the aforementioned relationship stays at a level that dwindle the possibility of influence. To put it another way, in a deep intimate relationship people share personal thoughts and feeling and find the chance to effect each other which in ordinary student-teacher relationship doesn’t happen. For instance, consider a 14 years old girl who is interested in architecture. Owing the fact that her teacher keep the class so formal, she never finds the chance to discuss his interests with hem hence she discusses it with her friends.

To wrap it up, students are more influence by their friends than their teachers. Owing the fact that they face common situations and understanding and the preferred relationship of student and teachers are formal who destroys the chance of any possible affect.