TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, people have tend to spend more time for themselves and their improvements to succeed in life. Our life is based on communicating with each other to produce every single part of our life. However, there are some reasons that avoids a closer relations ships with extended familiy. On the one hand, besides from all the benefits of technology, it gives an impact of staying close to people and have face to face communications. On the other hand, people have become more selfish because of social media. In addition, respect is not valuable in most of the countries anymore.

First of all, technology seems to be more utilized rather than its obstacles to most of people. Nevertheless, people in twenty first century more tend to communicate with their cell phones rather than meeting. In these days, a person can almost do any kind of interview through a mobile phone. For example, I used to see my cousins face more than now. We used to play games and hang out together while we were younger. With a technology of a mobile phone, we started to feel that we do not need to spend time and money for a meeting. We can communicate with each other by using our mobile phones in a cheap and easiy way. So, this situation avoids us to see our faces.

Second, in some cases, people became more selfish than in the past. I personally think that since internet and social media has been involving and spreading out to many countries, people became more selfish in their personal living. For eaxmple, I do see many of bad influenced events that going on among extended families. And this knowladge that I am acquiring from the social media news affect me to think twice about my extended family. I realized some kind of same situations that I had with my cousins and uncles. Social media convinces me to stay a little far away from my extended family.

Lastly, Being respectful to elderly people is declining by some reasons. To give an example from my country, in Turkey, people were more adapted to be respect old people's because of their ages and experiments about life. Our extended family that who is at an older age would deserve more respect in the past. But I osberve every day, there is a small amount of a respect between youngers to olders. For example, I use bus to get to work every day. One day, my grandfather would like to come and see my work place. We took a bus early in the morning and there was no empty space for sitting. I saw one of my cousin were sitting and he just oversaw me. I did not realize what the reason that he was doing it first. But as soon as an elderly person asked him to have his place, he refused him to not to giv his place. I was enourmiously shocked iwth his selfish behavior. This made me realize why the people do not care about their extended family much.

To sum up, being part of a family, I believe, requires much more than only communicating with phones, internet or being careless. In my case, communicating with each other is the reason why we were created for. Who really needs more than a happy relationship with their close extended families.