TPO-14 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people hold the view that traveling in your own country is more advantageous than other countries, however, some other think otherwise. As far as I am concerned, I contend that traveling other countries can be more enjoyable and beneficial.

To begin with, I firmly believe that traveling to other countries will broaden our horizon. Traveling to other countries will not only make us familiar with other culture but also we can learn lots from it. One can learn about countries’ traditional and the history of those people. Furthermore, experiencing different cultures can teach us a lot more than we read from the books. For instance, I always read in the books or in TV about the culture and how diverse the United States is. However, after I came to USA I learnt and saw many things that I would never be taught from those TV channels. Here, I saw how really living in a “melting pot” is and how people with all different backgrounds stand for each other and against discrimination.

The next important aspect which should be taken into consideration is that living in another country give us the chance to learn new language. No matter how long a person goes to language courses, he will never learn the language perfectly. On the other hand, traveling to the country itself and communicating with native people can be really helpful. To illustrate it, take me as an example, when I was in my country, I went to many English courses for roughly one year and I thought that I mastered this language. As soon as I came to USA, my first interaction was with a native officer in the airport. He asked me to show my passport, but he had to repeat three times so I could understand his accent. From that point, I realized that I actually don’t know the real English. What I learnt in my country was a very formal English with a very different pronunciation.

All in all, for the aforementioned ground, travelling to a new country can be very enjoyable, informative and very helpful for learning a new language.