TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, people are connected to a broader society; real life and virtual life.

Contemplating about only two of these source of impacts raised the question that whether

students are more influenced by teachers or friends. Although, some people might hold the

opposite view, I contend that friends are rather effective human beings on one’s mindset.

First of all, I think that we spend an immense amount of time with friends not with teachers.

Being with someone, observing their behavior and getting to know how they see the world can

really affect our vision. A good example can raise from my own experience. I had a friend, whom whenever I went out with, had a habit to help the homeless. She always used to say “give with one hand and take with the other”. Consequently, when I see a homeless, it reminds me of her words and I will help.

Another aspect that should be taken into consideration is that one’s friend is nearly the same age

as her. It is comprehensible that these youngsters’ perspectives are more of the same. Therefore, they more agree with each other’s opinion than a teacher who is most likely old-school and has no idea about new trends. To make it clearer, take my chemistry teacher as an example. I used to type my notes in the laptop at class. However, my chemistry instructor did not let me to, because of the fact that he thinks it is distractive. He didn’t realize that if I write in the laptop, it can be very helpful, due to the fact that it will be much faster and I will never lose the information. From this we can conclude that the age gap results in very different perspectives, which causes lack of understanding.

As a final point, I want to mention that friends know each other a lot. They spend many hours talking and sharing their life’s stories and opinions. They know what are their interests and know how to convince one another. Moreover, sometimes people just change their personalities to one more desirable that is better for their friendships. For example, a person tries to be more social just because her friends are social.

All in all, taking the aforementioned reasons into account, I think friends can be a great source of influence. Due to the fact that we spend a lot more time with each other. Being the same age and having an understanding of one another can be other reasons.