TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

We are living in a complex and very fast developing world, people including young children should be trained to know many skills in order to be able to adapt to this life and to make their lives more and more thriving. Therefore, the question of whether children should learn how to manage their own money is debatable. Some people think that it is good idea to teach their children to know how to use money as soon as possible. Some others would not agree with this. I my opinion, I totally support the statement above for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, managing money is a skill, therefore, children should be learn this ability as soon as possible. We all know that money plays a significant role in our lives. Generally speaking, we cannot live without money. Meanwhile, all people experience that earning money is not easy in every era. Actually, to earn money is hard but, to manage money is more difficult. If people do not know how to use money, they will be in trouble. Understanding these things, parents should spend time to educate their children how to manage their own money. It is really a meaningful skill, because this capacity will follow and help them in their future. I remember clearly when I was ten years old, my mother have taught me how to save money. She said that "I need to have a small book to write down how much money I spend in a certain time in order to balance how much money I earn and how much money I spend". I follow her advice and through my life I have experienced that it is a very wonderful lesson to me.

Secondly, by teaching children how to manage money, parents are teaching them comprehend the value of money. When children understand the meaning of money, they will not spend their money in vain. My own experience is a compelling example of this case. When first entered the university, my father gave me some money and told me that "I need to know how to distinguish what I need to buy and what I just want to buy". Living in the university, some time I would like to follow my friends to go out and go shopping or do many other things, such as participate in some clubs to enjoy my college life. But, I always remember what my father has taught me and I am pretty good at managing money.

In conclusion, people have different ideas about the question of whether children should learn how to manage their own money. In my point of view, for two reasons, which I have just mentioned above, I strongly believe that it is very good to teach children how to manage money when they are at young age.