TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Traveling is important in our lives in order to make it happier and unique. Some people believe that it is better to travel with other people as a group. However, others think the opposite because they prefer to take a trip alone. From my point of view, I contend that it is more advantageous to travel with others. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I would explain in the following essay.

To begin with, I am of the conviction that traveling with a tour guide would help you to waste less money because they already know the ways to entertain and places where you can live with less payment. In contrast, when a person travels alone, he wastes more money. My personal experience is a compelling example of that. Two years ago, when I wanted to travel to China, I decided to find a special group for that. In the beginning, I was nervous because I thought it would only waste my money and it would be better to travel on my own but I was wrong. Starting from the first day we visited museums and sightseeing with a low waste of money. I was really happy when I found out that I wasted not that much money, as compared to the times I was traveling solely. I believe I would not have saved some money by just traveling alone. As you can see, trips are beneficial.

Secondly, we need to take into the consideration that group trips are helpful to make friends. Moreover, you can keep communicating even after the trip. On the other hand, when the person is traveling alone the chance to find a friend is low. To illustrate my position, the aforementioned experience is again proving that. To tell the truth, in the beginning, I did not expect to find someone else with the same interest as mine. When I was in China I was interacting with others in my group and that made my trip the most interesting out of all. To be more specific, I found people that are playing on musical instruments as I do and that made me more involved in the communication. What is interesting is that we are still keeping in touch with each other. That is another reason why I find such trips essential for me.

To sum up, even though some may oppose my position I firmly believe that traveling in the group is worthwhile. This is because these trips allow us to conserve some money and find a friend with the same interests.