TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education plays an important part of our lives because it helps us to learn a lot of new things and prepares us for the future career. Some people argue that teachers affect students more than friends do. Others disagree because they think the opposite. From my point of view, I contend that students are more influenced by their professors. I will explain my position in more details in the following essay.

To begin with, when a student receives excellent marks he or she are more motivated to continue their education. It is not a secret that everyone enjoys the process of studying if it is worthwhile. In contrast, I do not think that a fellow can motivate an individual to study the way teacher does. My personal experience is a compelling example of that. Two years when I studying in the ninth grade, I hated math because I could not understand it. I was getting bad marks and my professor decided to talk with me. She told me that I attend her additional group courses in order to improve my grades. I agreed to do so although, in the beginning, I did not believe that I can make any progress. However, I was wrong because in just a month I understood every complicated material and I was really happy that my teacher helped me. I believe I would have developed that much by communicating with my peers. As you can see, teachers are motivating the student to improve their skills.

Secondly, when people see that the professor is giving an advice it is more likely that they would use it. This helps a student to eliminate his mistakes. To illustrate my point I want to give my personal example. A year ago, during my English courses, I needed to prepare a presentation and talk about it in front of the audience. I was really excited but I did not know if my project is good enough. Therefore, I came to my professor and asked an advice. She told me that a presentation should consist of photos and no sentences. And that helped me to prepare carefully and, hence, I was feeling more confident. This taught me that teachers influence by giving a helping hand.

To sum up, even though some may oppose my opinion I firmly believe that teachers affect students more. This is because they help us to improve our skills.