TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Traveling is the best way to get your mind off your worries. These days, going on a trip is much more affordable than in the past, which allows many people to do it during their holidays. But, is it better to travel in a group led by a tour guide or by yourself? Some people prefer to count with the tour-guide explanation about every place they visit. However, I believe the trip is more enjoyable when you travel by yourself for reasons I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, it is much more convenient to plan your trip according to your interests. A group of tourists usually do not agree what place to visit first or how long to stay in every touristic point. I will give an example of my own experience. Last year I travelled with a group of five people to New York. I was very interested in museums, especially in the MoMA museum since I am majoring in contemporaneous art. However, the tour guide decided to stay at the museum for just two hours, consequently, I could not appreciate all the masterpieces like I desired. That experience was very frustrating since one of the most important reasons that I went to New York, was to visit that museum, and I lost the opportunity to do it as I pleased.

Moreover, traveling with a tour guide is very expensive and usually is not worth it. I will give an example that illustrates this very well. My cousin John works in a tour company, and he is the one that gives the tour guides. He has a lot of experience in this kind of jobs since he has been working on this for more than ten years. This year I am planning to go to China. I did not want to waste my money as I did last year. This time I asked for my cousin some pieces of advice, and he told me that I should travel by myself. He has already gone to China five years ago, and in order to know about the history and culture of the country, he read a book named “All you have to know about China as a tourist.” I decided to follow my cousin’s advice, therefore I bought that same book yesterday. If he, who is a tour guide, did not recommend me to go on a trip hiring a tour guide, is because it is not worth it. You usually spend a lot of money on that. I prefer to save that money and use it to purchase presents for my family and stay in a better hotel, which will help me to rest better.

In conclusion, I believe that hiring a tour guide is a waste of money and it is not worth it. The best way to travel is having the autonomy to decide where and when you want to go to a specific touristic place.