TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the widespread of the transportation systems that connect the different countries around the world, people become more interested in traveling and exploring new places. while some people prefer to travel alone, I utterly prefer to have a tour guide for the following reasons.

To begin with, there are no doubts that the tour guide knows the country better than the tourist, so, he can help them to discover the beautiful landmarks of the country. Also, he can provide them with the essential information about the hotels and the low-price restaurants. so, they can save their budget. Therefore, hiring a guide is cheaper than traveling alone, this is in contrary to the general belief of most of the tourist. For instance, last year I traveled to Malaysia with my friend, we opt to go in a group with a tour guide, the guide showed us different packages with various prices, so, we were able to choose one that fits with our expenses. He was a local citizen, so he took us to very amazing places, it is true that we can make a search on the internet in order to get informations about the popular places in that country but by having a guide we can also know the best ways to go to these places with lower cost.

Secondly, one of the crucial reason that makes me prefer to get a tour guide is to avoid getting lost in a foreign country especially if I do not know the local language. Thusm traveling with a guide is safer and help you to avoid any unnecessary danger. I remember that five years ago, I decided to visit China with my cousin. We did not hire a guide because we thought it will cost more money. So, one day we went to downtown and when we wanted to come back to the hotel we were not able to recognize the way, it was a trouble situation for us since we cannot speak Chinese and the people there were not able to speak English or Arabic. But, thanks to the recent technology, because we used Google translator, through this programme we wrote what we want in English then translate it into Chinese and showed it to the taxi driver. Thus, we finally back to the hotel. Had we got a tour guide, we would not be trapped in such situation. Consequently, we decided not to travel to any place where the citizen cannot understand our language unless we hire a guide.

In Conclusion, traveling alone can be more convenient sometimes, but even though, having a guide is much safer, and help the person to save his budget.