TPO 17 Independant

Advertisement is one of the best means of promoting product sales. Whether most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are or not, has generated a lot of controversy lately. As far as I am concerned, they exagerate on how good a product is most of the time. In the following paragraphs, I will make my points to support my opinion.

First and foremost, producer companies just want to sell their products, by any means necessary, therefore, they may use some unethical ways. In this regard, most advertisements are flashy and confusing. That is, they make a viewer believe that they need the product, whereas they may not. Furthermore, they use some gimmicks to lure specific groups of people, such as geeks. For example, mobile phone companies introduce their new flag-ship products with too many unuseful features, that are barely used, in order to persuade technology lovers to buy them.

Moreover, another important aspect is the fact that numerous advertisements focus on young children. Small children mostly lack the ability to discriminate genuine claims from fake ones. Consequently, they cannot decide whether a toy will be interesting to them in the future or not, they just decide to buy it at the moment. Also, advertisements use fantasy, which is appealing to young children, to produce an effect with which they can sell their products. For instance, a company producing toy robots may demonstrate that the robot can fly in the space, while in reality it is just an ordinary robot. Young children may have difficulty to decide whether the robot has this ability or not.

Admittedly, not to mention the importance of trends in advertising would be an oversight. Today some matters become trending from time to time. Accordingly, advertisers make use of this trend and promote their products. For example, if a specific color is trending, a company may produce its products with that color for a short amount of time, thus, people would not think of its usage, and only decide to buy it since its color is trending.

All in all, advertisements use various methods to show their product better than they really are. They may lie, take advantage of young children's judgment, or make use of everyday trends.