TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

To make the most profit, advertisements often exaggerate benefits of products in order appeal the customers. This phenomenon is very prevalent, especially in selling stuff for kids. Although sometimes, advertising seems to be unrealistic, it really does help the company selling their product. To be more specific, there are 2 ways that advertisements make products look better than they really are.

To begin with, the first way of exaggerate advertising has something to do with beneficial from fantasy. Fantasy is unrealistic world that often has thing that people want the most, therefore, using this method allows advertisements to interest people. In fact, customers often see this kind of advertising in kids product like milk or snack. Kids are too young to distinguish between realistic and fantasy, so far they will believe what advertise told them. Using the benefits of this, companies often use heroes and fantasy characters to make children pay attention on their product. TH true milk, a popular product in Vietnam, publicize themself by a promotional video claims that if people drink their milk, they will be power rangers. It appeal right into children desire, so their parents become close customers of this company. In brief, exaggerate advertisements enable companies to appeal as many customer as possible.

Furthermore, the second way is in term of comparison. To be more clearly, companies often compare their products with similar ones from competition companies and claims theirs are better. For example, my sister’s company opened an event to compare their pan and other companies pan. However, the result from this competition was inaccurate. In fact, my sister’s side used a new pan while other side use an old ones, so it is not surprising that my sister won. As a result people believed that product from my sister’s company are more reliable, so far, they would prefer to use these products. In conclusion, companies benefit exaggerate advertising in having people trust; to keep developing their income, companies often use this method.

Ultimately, I find myself believes that advertisements oftens make the products look better than they really are. In fact, companies keep exaggerate advertising because they benefits economically from this. I believe that business student should put my ideas into careful thought in order to sharpen their marketing skills.