TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We all know that teachers play an important role on the growth of students because they can teach students knowledge and principles about how to be a grown adult.So many people believe that students are highly influenced by their teachers. However, from my perspective, I hold that students are more influenced by their students than by their teachers.

To begin with, students usually have the same life targets or hobbies with their friends since they usually have the same age. Compared with spending time with teachers, students prefer to spend more time with their friends so friends are likely to influence each other.For example, my friends and I are interested in playing basketball. We usually spent all our spare time on talking about basketball or playing basketball.What's more, one of my friend became a great professional basketball player and we all tended to imiatate him. As a result, I play basketball better than before because I learn a lot from my friend. Meanwhile, a teacher would never have such a great influence on students because teachers usually have less in common with students.

Moreover, students are more influenced by their friends because friends know better about each other. Concretely speaking, a teacher usually need to pay attention to a large number of students since a teacher should be responsible to all the studetns in his or her class. As a result, he or she usually too busy to care about everyon in his or her classes. For example, since my teacher usually have to deal with a lot of stuff about my classmates in school, I usaully choose to have a talk with my friends while having a problem because my friends really understand me and it's a much more efficient way to solve my problem.

Although teachers could have a great influence on students since they can teach students knowledge and the truth of life, an everlasting friend may have a greater influence than a teacher in the long run .A teacher could only influence his or her students temporarily because the studetns may not contact their teachers after graduating. On the contrary, an everlasting friend could have an great influence on our whole life. So teachers do not have as great influence in the long run as everlasting friends do.

All in all, with the reasons mentioned above, I believe studetns are more influenced by their friends than by their teachers.