TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students spend most of time in school with their teachers and friends. Therefore, the question whether they are influenced by their teachers or their friends is debatable. It depends on each student. Some students may like to follow their friends. Other students are impacted by their teachers. In my opinion, most students affected by their teachers. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, teachers are knowledgeable ones. We all acknowledge the purpose of students to go to school is to gain knowledge. General speaking, people cannot have a job without education. Understanding this phenomenon, students try to absorb knowledge as much as possible. While students are studying, they get help directly from their teachers. From valuable information that they are provided, they tend to admire their teachers. As a result, students believe their teachers and feel willingly to follow the advice of their teachers. My own experience is a compelling example of this case. When I was in twelve grade, I did not know which major to choose to apply for the university. I asked my biology teacher, who taught me since I was tenth grade. She told me what was my strengths and weaknesses. Therefore, I could evaluate my ability and chose my major.

Second, due to their experience, career and status, students tend to respect their professors. Everybody has to admit that being a professor is not an easy job, mainly because their responsibility is enormous. Professors have to teach thousands of students, and they must take into account that those students represent the future of society. Therefore, they have to research and learn new things constantly to upgrade their knowledge day by day to help students. To be more specific, I always respect my English teacher than anyone else because even though she is on a verge of seventy years old, she continuously read many kinds of books and learn computer technology in order to help her students effectively. It seems to me that she is a whole world to me just because she gives her knowledge to help me ungrudgingly.

In conclusion, people have different ideas about the question of whether students are more influenced by their teachers or their friends. In my view, for two reasons, which I have just mentioned above, I strongly believe that students are often more influenced by their teachers than their friends.