TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a saying in our country that you can get to know a person by their friends. I truly believe this statement because friends can affect and change who we are and our personalities. Although some people think that teachers are biggest influencers for students,Ii disagree with this for following reasons. Students spend more time with their friends compared to their teachers moreover, their friends are more peers to them than teachers are.

Although teachers can influence students on how they behave, dress or learn friends can change their mindset and lifestyles. For example, there was a time when I had an ingenious and erudite teacher who knew everything that I asked her about and a friend who has been with me through my hardest times and knew everything about me. One day, I had to make a difficult choice which can determine my future-career. I always wanted to be a teacher, on the other hand I wanted to be a dancer too.

My teacher suggested me to find most demanding careers in the future and choose the on the list, so I ca be a successful and rich lady. On the other hand, my friend suggested me to find an answer in yourself. I could not understand that phrase for a while and was irate at her not being denote with me during my hard times and decided to look up in the internet for demanding careers. Of course teacher was there so I decided to become a teacher and started doing part time jobs while not talking to my friend. After a while, I understood that just by doing a job that is very highly valued does not mean that I will be successful in the future and finally realized what my friend tried to say. She implied that it is better if I became a dancer because she knew that I have been dancing since I was in the kindergarten and was enthusiastic about my passion.

Secondly, we spent more time with our friends than we do with teachers. According to me, there is a higher chance of being influenced by whom you spend the most of your time with. For example, my friend from volunteer project had a very adroit teacher who was very understandable and gave precise advises. On the other hand, he had a friend who was into was into computer games so much that he spent nights playing at game stations. He was an outstanding student who always got exalted by his teachers and colleagues. Unfortunately, his friend introduces him computer games. As a result, he became so addicted with games by losing control and started spending nights in the game center. Meanwhile, his grades were decreasing rapidly due to his absence in school.

In conclusion, students are more likely to get influenced by their friends rather than teachers according to my experience. Although one can have a brilliant teacher, but if he or she has a bad influencing friend even a good teacher can not hold them off.