TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, getting reliable news seems one of the most challenging things to do as many news media are being so selective about the information that they broadcast. In fact, many people prefer to get their news and information from one resource as they find these resources agree with them on many levels. However, in my viewpoint, I believe people must get their news from different resources since they would be able to make unbiased judgments and think of the box.

Initially, every news channel, website, or magazine has its own agenda. As a result, when a person has the ability to obtain his information from more than one resource, he would be able to make an impartial judgment that is not similar to one resource or another. For example, during the Egyptian revolution in 2011, my friend and I used to follow the news day by day. On one hand, he liked to get his information from the governmental TV in Egypt, which was in favor of the former regimen. On the other hand, I was watching many Youtube channels that had different viewpoints about the political situation. Therefore, I was able to build my story about the event in a more authentic way, which helped me to anticipate the result of that period. He, however, could not believe what happened by the end of the revolution as he was expecting the winning of the military. Seeing that, I have learned that people build their perspectives and beliefs from what they watch or hear; thus, they must be careful in terms of choosing their resources.

More importantly, having many resources gives a person the ability to think about his or her surroundings in a way that is different and unique. In my community, for instance, most people have the same opinion about different topics because they all watch the same governmental news channel. One of my friends, anyway, likes to watch international channels. Therefore, his way of thinking is unique and more solid than others. Doing that, he became one of the best political satires in the region.

All in all, in order to build your perspective in a healthy way, you must get your information from different resources as it would be more impartial and authentic.