TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is no doubt that successful people have unique talents and qualities. Some people argue that they are successful for they do what they familiar with, however, I believe that is trying new things and taking risks for the following reasons.

To begin with, the modern society is developing so fast that people have to adapt it as soon as possible to be successful. If you keep on the traditional works, you will fall behind other people who have been successful. For example, no one could imagine the popular of smart phones ten years ago and so many profits in this area that various of companies are competing with each other. Like Apple, the first which tries smart phones and takes risks, becomes one of the richest companies in an unbelievable fast speed. On the contrary, once the biggest phone company, Nokie still concentrated on traditional phones causing it declined. Who can first adapt to the fast developed world, who can success.

Then, as the old saying goes that no risks, no successes. Since chances always company with risks, there is no way to success without any risks. Take myself for instance, two choices are faced when I graduated from the university. One is to still study in this university for master’s degree without risk, the second is to study aboard without knowing which university admits me. The second looks like an adventure or a gambling because it is possible that none of these universities admits me. To have a better future, I choose the second and with hard working I success.

Admittedly, taking risks cannot make you always success, sometimes you may fail. Of course, this could be one important explanation why some people are afraid of taking risks and trying new things. But what they forget is that they also lose the possibility of success if they just do what they are familiar with. So those who avid of risks and new things are always failures.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I firmly consist that, to be successful, there is no way expect taking risks and trying new things.